What is Balance?

I find myself constantly wasting away my evenings, either on the computer or watching TV.  I’m addicted to the screen, that’s my confession.  This is me, standing up in front of you all saying “My name is Jeanine and I’m a screen addict”.  When I say I want balance, I mean I want to balance out my life.  Spend time caring for my body (eating healthy, working out) and caring for my soul, so to speak.  Of course, there will be times I still watch TV.  I’m not trying to go cold turkey.  This isn’t a full media ban.  This blog is just me, telling you about my experiences; trying to navigate setting boundaries for myself and trying to stay graceful and easy with the process.  If you’re curious who I am and where I come from, that’s tomorrow! 🙂  Cheers, J

This entry was posted in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is Balance?

  1. Ray says:

    One way I try to do this is to avoid at even the hint of any addiction. For example, I grew up without electricity, so didn’t really ever have ice water. Just approximately room temperature water all the time. And I was 100% fine with that. But then we moved somewhere with electricity and a refrigerator and everything, and I started drinking extremely cold ice water all the time. And then I realized that I no longer enjoyed room temperature water. Yet I didn’t enjoy the ice water more than I had enjoyed the other water before. In a way, I was “addicted” to ice cold water. So I stopped, and now I just always drink room temperature water. That way I enjoy it that way, as well as if somebody gives me a glass of ice water.

    It’s a trivial example, but is a pattern I try to follow with everything in life. If I find myself dependent on something unstable for my happiness, I try to remove that dependence. Doesn’t mean that I can’t still enjoy ice water, video games, and whatever. But it does mean that I wouldn’t / don’t feel like I’m missing out on life when I don’t have access to those things.

    It’s not necessarily something I can encourage others to do though, because many people feel miserable without certain things, so “giving them up” makes them unhappy. Whereas it just keeps me happy.

    • Jeanine says:

      Exactly! If you remove the addiction you usually don’t miss it, but while trying to rid yourself of it it seems extremely difficult! In the long run, removing addictions makes you happier and more free, but in the short term it can be exceptionally hard to let go. I want that damn ice water!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

