Mission Statement

Starting tomorrow morning, I will be in retreat mode.

No laptop. No cell-phone (except for emergencies). No books, no magazines, no media.  For the better part of the week, no talking.

It will be a challenge to be sure. One I will embrace. A time to turn off. To slow down. To meditate. To be in nature. To be of service.  It’s where I’m happiest, and also most emotional.  It’s usually tearful, almost always difficult, and it’s what I live for.

I know this is an extreme way to start off my blog, but hopefully it will help you tune into where I’m coming from.  I’m going to try to bring the retreat home. I’m going to try to embrace the things in my life I love, and the things that I love doing.  I’m on a mission for a balanced life, but more intimately, I’m on a mission to find inner happiness. Inner peace.

I don’t think it’s just some hokey concept. I also don’t think it’s easy. It takes more guts then I’ve had to date. It takes more gusto, more vigour, more enthusiasm, more love for one’s self then I thought I’d ever have. And I’m going to attempt it.

Follow me. It’s a life-long journey. The journey, in the end, is the goal. Happiness is found in every smile, can be chosen with every breath. It’s not a destination, it’s a state of being. I’m going to try to be free. To be happy and free. Yes!

[and with that, I will be gone for 10 days. Updates to begin regularly upon return]

This entry was posted in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mission Statement

  1. Ray says:

    I apologize if you’ve posted more about this and I just haven’t gotten to it yet. I’m reading these in chronological order, so haven’t read everything yet.

    But how was this specific little journey? The 10 days without media, books, etc? Did you spend more time with people because of it? Or were you lonely? Did you stick it out? Would you recommend it to others for a chance to slow down? I’ve often thought about doing something like this. But preferably camping or something so I wasn’t really even in society at all. Just me and God, or me and a few other people and God.

    • Jeanine says:

      You know – I haven’t posted about it yet! I totally meant to. I will this week, but the short version is – IT WAS AMAZING! 🙂 And emotionally I was all over the place, so I can’t really simplify that. Not only did I do media free for 5 days (and I had no laptop for all 9, so although it wasn’t technically media free, it was much less media then I’m used to), I (and everyone) also did social silence for those 5 days, and focused intently on the things that are limiting me from being the person I want to be. So I missed the media, I was actually totally fine with no talking, and I was learning about how I am and why I am the way I am and how to change it more towards the person I want to be. It was amazing, as I said, although not always fun or comfortable.

      I would recommend it to those who are okay with being uncomfortable in order to become a new person – letting go of the old way is not easy. And I would recommend doing it with support, whether that’s the support of a community and teacher in my case, or perhaps just your bible and faith in yours. We only talked about our process and our healing, nothing else, so other people can be very helpful in the sense that they acknowledge you and your changes, even when sometimes you have a hard time knowing if you really are changing.

      Anyway, as I said – I will update fully soon, I have so many journal entries to work off of, but this is the short version! Thanks for reminding me to do that.

Leave a Reply

